Search for Health Information You Need

Archives | Food Intolerance

MSG Sensitivity (Intolerance): Causes, Symptoms and Treatment

Monosodium glutamate (MSG) can be found as a flavor-booster in many packaged foods and restaurant dishes where it enhances the taste of food by stimulating nerves on the tongue and in the brain. It is especially popular in Asian cooking but is also commonly used in processed meats, canned vegetables and clear soups. Monosodium glutamate is the sodium salt of glutamic acid, a white, crystalline salt-like substance. The body uses the carboxylate anion of glutamic […]

Lactase Deficiency and Lactose Intolerance

Lactose intolerance occurs when the cells that line the small intestine are unable to produce enough of the enzyme lactase, which is needed to break down the milk sugar lactose into the simple sugars glucose and galactose that the body can absorb. Lactose intolerance, which is sometimes wrongly called milk intolerance, is not the same as a milk allergy. Unlike milk allergy, lactose intolerance does not involve the immune system, a key player in all […]

Are Gluten Intolerance and Celiac Disease the Same Thing?

You may often hear or see the terms celiac disease, celiac sprue, gluten-sensitive enteropathy, gluten intolerance and gluten sensitivity being used interchangeably. But, do they refer to the same condition? Not exactly, though they all relate to the same problem, a negative reaction to gluten found in foods made with wheat, rye or barley. The term gluten intolerance is used to describe the entire category of gluten-related problems. Gluten intolerance can be caused either by […]

Which Soft-Drinks Are Gluten-Free?

Most non-alcoholic beverages, such as sodas and juices, are made from ingredients that do not naturally contain gluten. But that does not mean you can be careless if you are sensitive to gluten. Always check product labeling for ingredients derived from barley, wheat and rye to make sure the beverage is safe for you to drink. Gluten Free Soda and Carbonated Beverages When it comes to sweet carbonated beverages like coke or Pepsi, the main […]

Celiac’s Guide to Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages

Whether you have celiac disease or other form of gluten intolerance or you are on a gluten-free diet for any other reason, you may sometimes want to have a social drink but feel uncertain about potential traces of gluten in some alcoholic beverages. Although the occasional drink will not worsen your gluten sensitivity, you still need to know exactly which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free and, therefore, safe for you to drink. In general, most spirits […]